Follow the brown signs
A fashion parade of effigies
Nestling in the grounds of Harewood House, All Saints’ dates from the 15th century. It is remarkable for six pairs of effigies, dating from 1419 to 1510, commemorating the owners of Harewood and the nearby Gawthorpe estate. They are some of the greatest surviving examples of alabaster carving – virtually without rival in England – and offer a fascinating glimpse into the amour, robes, jewellery and headdresses of the day.
The earliest depicts the fearless judge William Gascoigne in the robes of the Lord Chief Justice with a finely carved purse on one side and a dagger on the other, while his wife wears a square head-dress and rests her feet on a little dog.
The latest –- of Edward Redman –- is thought to be a true likeness of the man, rare in Medieval times. At his feet is a tiny but perfectly carved figure of a bedesman who is shown saying prayers for the soul of the departed.
The church was restored in 1862-63 by Sir George Gilbert Scott, designer of St Pancras Station, the Albert Memorial and many churches. The interior has an unadorned simplicity and there is a fine west window.
How to find us
All Saints’ Church, Harewood
Get directions to this attraction